A Woman's Voice


“Extraordinarily Ordinary” — January 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES by doloresayotte on January 28, 2011
Tags: ,

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

Forty years ago today, my niece Lori was born.  What a milestone birthday this is for her. If you happen to be reading this post Lori, Happy 40th Birthday to you. When Lori was born, it was also a milestone birth for me because I was given the first time honor of becoming a Godmother to this lovely little baby. In most instances, one might consider being a Godparent as a pretty ordinary thing but to me it was really quite extraordinary. In my day, it usually meant that if the parents were unable to care for the child, we would be willing to take on this huge responsibility in the parent’s absence. Nowadays, I’m pretty sure most parents have guardians named in their Wills if the need should arise but I’m not so sure that was as prevalent in my era, at least not to my knowledge. We took a lot more for granted and had the tendency to assume that our children would be taken care of by our chosen family members if the unthinkable happened. 

We later honored our siblings in much the same way when our children were born. We chose carefully in order to ensure that if the need ever arose, our children would be loved and provided for in much the same way as we would raise them ourselves. 

As the years went by we were given the honor of becoming  Godparents on more than one occasion. Each and every time it felt like such an extraordinary event.  It was always a great honor to be selected.  Now all these years later, although we don’t have the same initial responsibility of taking over for the parents if need be, I feel we still have the responsibility of setting an example for these wonderful Godchildren. This makes our role in their lives still extraordinary even to this day.  I’m grateful to have had this opportunity and I’m sure Lori that you too have now experienced this same role as Godmother.       

“Each time the world needs an extra touch of love and gentle caring, God creates a Godmother”   (Source Unknown)     

  

2 Responses to '“Extraordinarily Ordinary” — January 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '“Extraordinarily Ordinary” — January 28, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    what a lovely post! I am a god parent to my youngest sister, I was 16 when she was born. I feel an amazing connection to her as a result of that. I totally know what you mean when you say you have a life long sense of responsibility towards them I feel that way about her. She is all grown up now, of course, with kids of her own, but to me she still feels like someone I watch over and keep on my radar all the time …

    great post .. great reminder !

    LLL from HTH


    • Hope…thanks so much for taking the time to leave a comment. I truly appreciate your continued support, encouragement and positive attitude. I can well imagine the important role that you played in your younger sister’s life. I’m sure the responsibility you felt at being a Godparent at such a young age as well as being her older sister put you in a position to want to set a good example. I’m sure you lived up to it in every sense of the word.


Leave a Reply

