A Woman's Voice


Miracle Monday –January 3, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in MIRACLE MONDAY by doloresayotte on January 3, 2011
Tags: , , , , ,

FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE

It’s a new dawn…it’s a new day… it’s a New Year! 

January 3rd is the first Monday of 2011 when I am about to launch a new theme on “A Wo-Man’s Voice”.  One of the very first blogs I wrote was titled Blue Monday in March 2010.  Today after all these months, I would like to introduce Miracle Monday as one of my regular themes.  I have been inspired by two of my dear friends, Nikki Rosen and Desiray Lewis to add this special touch to my blog. Nikki posts Thankful Thursday and Spiritual Sunday which she features weekly on her blog. Desiray has a regular theme every day of the week.

The topics on Miracle Monday will be varied but they will mostly dwell on what I have to be grateful for and what I consider to be “the positives” at this stage of my life. I have every desire to begin the New Year on a positive note and this is my first post in 2011 to go along with this theme.  I realize many people start off with a list of resolutions and what they would like to change about themselves.  I thought I would be different by stating that I like my life in most instances and there are so many things that I hope and pray don’t change.

I have been married to my high school sweetheart for over 41 years. Every night when I pray before I fall asleep, I thank God for this wondrous gift. If you’ve read any of my posts in the category FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE (please check out the sidebar), you can see that my husband isn’t perfect. Hey…but then, neither am I.  However, the very first thing I am grateful for in 2011, is our long time marriage and the love and loyalty we share despite the ups and downs of any life long commitment. We have experienced financial hardship, job loss, ill physical and emotional health, and other typical marriage woes.  Over the years, we have learned the true meaning of our marriage vows. I have discovered that I married my best friend who has stuck by my side through “thick and thin”.  Figuratively speaking, because my husband is not the most demonstrative type of guy, we’ve held each other’s hand as we worked through these trials and tribulations. No one ever said that it was going to be easy but it’s been well worth it.

Many years ago when we were in our late teens, my husband’s brother tried to influence us not to get married so young.  He was eight years older and he was offering his younger brother what he thought was some sage advice.  Needless to say, we never took it but I recall a humorous moment in the first few years of our marriage when my husband showed a little “sass”.  He mentioned to his brother that if he had known marriage was going to be this great, he would have gotten married sooner!  So yes…I do have every reason to be grateful, don’t you think?  And what about you?  Are there things in your life that you are grateful for or don’t want to change? I would love to hear from you. If you leave a comment, you can count on a reply from me. All you need to do is check back after your comment for my reply.

In my life and hopefully yours too, there’s no time for Blue Monday.  Instead, here’s wishing you Blue Skies every Monday and all week-long…

Blue Skies is an expression my friend Steven uses when closing off in his communication with me. It makes my day!

10 Responses to 'Miracle Monday –January 3, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Miracle Monday –January 3, 2011 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. chosenwoman said,

    this is simply lovely sis to honor your hubby in your blog. Marriage is not easy when the Lord gave me my husband I thank God every day for my spouse even in our vows at the wedding I asked the Lord to show me every day how to love my spouse. And just like you I thank God every day for him I pray for him everyday. As I told and tell people my husband is perfect, he is not perfect for everyone is but he is perfect for me in every way because God gave me what I needed and gave him what he needed so together we are perfect for each other. We have seen good and bad days but thanks be to God we’ve seen more good days then bad. Great post!


    • Thank you…I couldn’t agree more with you. Neither my husband nor I are perfect but just like you, I feel that we are perfect for each other! God blessed our marriage so many years ago and for that I will be forever grateful!

  2. Sarah said,

    love this post…and your theme…miracles. There are miracles…so many and you and Fred…are one of those.


    • Thanks Nikki…it is so true. There are so many miracles in our lives but sometimes we are too busy to see them. Other times, they are so small that we don’t realize they are there. Eventually they do join together so we get a better picture of how God works.

  3. Andrea said,

    I love having a reminder every Monday to be thankful for what I do have in my life. Great idea!


    • Thanks Andrea…sometimes we all need a little reminder about what we have to be grateful for and the things we inadvertantly take for granted. I’m glad you like my new theme! 🙂

  4. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    what a beautiful topic and what a beautiful story of your marraige! I love reading about your relationship and I love his articles too. It’s a great part of your blog.

    What I hope does not change in my life is that I never again lose my hope. I feel like now that I have pursued it, and tried to really understand what it is and how it moves me, I own much more than when it was just a passive part of my life.

    I am very grateful for my family… I love them all and want years and year more time with them … all of them …

    I have a new job .. and I am so grateful for the opportunity to do something different in a place that seems very glad to have me, and it is right off the beach !

    and of course I am very grateful for my Miss Daisy .. she is 16 and though moving quite slow … still moving .. still an amazing part of my day ….

    Happy New Year Miss D! You’re the best!


    • Hope…once again you have helped make my day. Your postitive attitude and hope shines through everything you write.

      I know things haven’t been easy for you this last year but as you’ve started your “hope journey” you’ve managed to take me along for the ride and I’m loving it! I’m sure there are some other happy passengers besides me. Thanks for being you! Here’s To Hope…Miss D

  5. Gigi Falstrom said,

    The idea of starting the week with blue skies and positive thinking is indeed “good medicine” to help insure a great week to follow. Every day is a miracle when our eyes and ears are opened. Thanks for the reminders Delores and congratulations on a long and successful marriage.


    • Hi Gigi…I couldn’t agree more! There is no better way to start off the week than on a positive note. It is indeed “good medicine”. Your lovely comments are also a good dose of the same remedy. I certainly appreciate you taking the time to read my post and leave a comment too!


Leave a Reply

