A Woman's Voice


“Growing Up And Liking It” –December 26, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE by doloresayotte on December 26, 2010
Tags: , , , , ,

FOREWORD to “Growing Up & Liking It” by Andrea Cockerill

I have always known that my mother could give sound advice if the occasion arose.  I have gone to her often throughout my years at university, during my employment as a social worker and now in my years of mothering. Sometimes as children in the process of growing up, we can’t always see our mothers as women, as if the role of mother negates being a woman.  As I have gotten older, I have taken a step back and I have learned to look at my mother through the eyes of a woman looking at another woman. As an adult,  I see a woman who passionately cares about people, not just her own children but all people who may have or who are suffering. She knows suffering but she also knows the power of hope, knowledge and self-love. These are such simple concepts yet many times they are so hard to grasp in times of despair.

I have had my own times of despair, from a first-born being in the NICU to the heartbreak of some of the tougher times during the mothering of my own children. It is during those times that I have called my mother knowing I would receive the words of guidance that I so longed to hear. Her guidance is not complicated but rather straight forward and practical.  Her words, just the remedy needed in times when complications and stress seem to dominate our lives.  

My mother is educated but it is more through her own painful trials that she has learned life’s most valuable lessons. I feel that it is because of her compassionate heart, she writes this book full of wisdom and raw knowingness. She initially wrote her books so that her children and grandchildren could benefit from her life experience. Her goal was to spare them the suffering from falling as hard and as deep as she did during her most painful times. It is with this compassion, she shares her recipe for a more balanced life with her readers. 

My mother writes in much the same way she would talk to you if you came to her for advice. Her words are well thought out, gentle and nonjudgmental. You can feel this positive energy throughout the pages of her book. Two of the greatest gifts my mother has ever given me are, to believe in something bigger than myself, and to honor the beliefs of my neighbor. It is because of these wonderful gifts that I now see the world in color, instead of black and white. What joy it has been to live life with such an open heart. Although I am her daughter, I no longer negate the woman my mother is nor the woman my mother wants me to be.  In doing so my eyes are now wide open and able to see the gentle wisdom that was always there, right in front of me. I am ever so grateful that now, you too can share in my mother’s wisdom and grace. In doing so may your heart be open to the gifts her book has to offer. Enjoy!  

Andrea Cockerill – BA (Psychology), BSW

To learn more, please visit TATE PUBLISHING

Thank you Andrea for your inspiration, support and love! 

11 Responses to '“Growing Up And Liking It” –December 26, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '“Growing Up And Liking It” –December 26, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. Reminds me of my own mother, though she never wrote. She offered advice though and words of wisdom. Love this.
    Blessings,
    Barb


    • Thanks Barb…what a lovely compliment to be compared to your own mother!

  2. hope_rising said,

    What a beautiful testimony to your relationship!

    this reminds me .. I owe you an email Miss D!

    I’ll send my address… I can’t wait to read your book !

    LLL from HTH !


    • Hope…that sounds wonderful. I will be getting my first shipment of books sometime in Jan. I will send one to you as soon as I receive them. HTH from LLL Miss D 🙂

  3. Sarah said,

    wow…I have come to know the woman Andrea speaks so highly about….and to know that gentle kind empowering person she is…this is beautiful and a testiment to a true mom.


    • Nikki…thank you so much. You have no idea what your words mean to me. I am very grateful for your friendship and the kindness and compassion that you have shown my family and me. I appreciate your prayer support too!

  4. Judith said,

    Dolores, Congratulations on your new book. It sounds wonderful I love the cover too!


    • Thanks Judith…I appreciate the positive feedback. I hope you are feeling better these days. Take care.

  5. Judith said,

    Yes, on the mend and feeling ready to go!


  6. I am so excited. Can’t wait to see your new book. We have to get together soon.


    • Thanks Jan…it is a very exciting time. My book arrives tomorrow and I’m quite eager to hold it it my hands.


Leave a Reply

