A Woman's Voice


CHRISTMAS MEMORIES — December 23, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES by doloresayotte on December 23, 2010
Tags: , , ,

              INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

This isn’t going to be your usual Christmas post. I know that we want to believe that Christmas is always a joyous season.  However,  if we are honest with ourselves we can admit that not everyone has only fond memories at this time of the year or reason to celebrate.  As wonderful as it is to celebrate the birth of Christ, we realize that some people may not be in the mood or have the opportunity to join in the festivities. There are many less fortunate people in this world and many lonely people who will be by themselves at this special time of the year. When others are having numerous family gatherings, there are those who are not. Whether due to poverty, circumstance, ill mental or physical health, or by choice…we know that someone is in need on Christmas Day and throughout the Christmas Season as they deal with the reality of their situation.

In the last two weeks, two of my family members passed away. One was a cousin that I always admired and respected and the other was an elderly aunt that I fondly remember.  Today, December 23rd, is also the anniversary of the death of my dear mother-in-law. I remember very well our lack of desire as a family to celebrate Christmas the year she passed away.  No matter how special this time of the year may be, there are many who have suffered the loss of loved ones during this Christmas Season and have little or no desire to share in the fun. 

My heart and prayers go out to these people. There is never a good time to embrace the loss of a loved one but believe me, the worst time of the year is around Christmas.  Today, I ask you to join me by saying a little prayer for all those who are suffering or struggling with whatever may be going on in their lives that is taking away from their joy during this celebratory season.  I thank you for doing this.  I also want to wish each and every one of you God’s choicest blessings as you end this year and enter into the next.

16 Responses to 'CHRISTMAS MEMORIES — December 23, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'CHRISTMAS MEMORIES — December 23, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte'.


  1. My God send His Holy Comforter to those who have lost loved ones. I lost my beloved father at four years old on Christmas Day, so I know how loving a loved one can take the joy right out of the season. Know that they are spending Christmas in heaven with Jesus this year, and you will see them again.
    Blessings,
    Barb


    • Thank you so much Barb for joining me in prayer for all those who are struggling this Christmas Season for whatever reason. Yes…I’m sure our lost loved ones are celebrating in God’s glory.

  2. chosenwoman said,

    thank you sis for sharing this in your blog…not everyone is feeling joyous this year for they have so many things on their minds lost of love ones and all. it can be a struggle I know for me when my mom passed away the first Christmas was so hard that I did not even celebrate it because it was just to hard. But in spite of my feelings Jesus gave me strength in my heart to remind me what this season is all about. May we all be mindful of others.


    • You are so welcome sis…and thanks to you too. Over and over again you have brightened my day by your inspirational words. Today, you have succeeded in doing it yet again by your expression of compassion and understanding for those who struggle at this time of the year. Blessings to you and yours!

  3. Peter Black said,

    Dolores,
    Thank you for this timely check for those of us who hope or expect to be joyfully celebrating Christmas with loved ones and with all the things to delight the heart and the senses.
    I too, find myself thinking and remembering in prayer people who have suffered bereavement and loss, or have loved one laid aside in sickness.
    The prayer and cheer-up list seems to get longer every year.
    Every blessing to you and your family and blog readers for a marvellous Christmas in celebration of the birth of our Lord, and also a safe arrival into the New Year.


    • Peter…you are most welcome and I thank you too for your understanding, compassion, and prayers for those who struggle at this time of the year. I think you are right. As we get older, it seems that we have experienced more loss and the names on our prayer list increase in number. This post is a gentle reminder to try to keep up our hopes and to make every effort to experience joy as we celebrate the true meaning of Christmas. Blessings to you and yours!

  4. Kathy Eberly said,

    Thank you so much, Dolores for saying what I have been feeling for weeks. It’s been a tough year in my family and I know God is faithful and will get us through, yet the sadness is here. Our family has lost some significant people in our lives this year not to mention things that have happened in my own immediate family. I try to hold on to the fact that God does love us and sent his only son to share in our tears. Thanks again for the post!


    • You are most welcome Kathy. Thanks to you too for sharing some of your struggles and compassion for others who also struggle. I am sorry to hear of your loss. You are right…we are not alone in our sorrow. God is with us every step of the way. Blessings to you and yours during this difficult Christmas Season.

  5. Mary Haskett said,

    Thank you Dolores


    • Mary…you are very welcome. I know that this is your first Christmas after the loss of your husband. My heart goes out to you and your family.

  6. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    I will light a candle tonight for all those you mention. I know that you are right, Last year, with the loss of my Arielle, I just wanted to wish Christmas away, this year I am in a different place, mostly I think because of my hope blog. There are pieces of the season that still surprise me with an unexpected tug at my heart, but for the most part I am doing much better.

    I am very sorry for your loss this year. I will keep you and yours in my thoughts through the rest of the season. The season, whether Christmas or Chanunkah …. is about being with family. I think that if your family, when together this season, celebrates and toasts, the lives of the ones you’ve lost. If you honor them by bringing their memory, even if it’s still sad and raw, into your gatherings this holiday, you are still honoring the season. It’s the season of love, and a reminder of hope. If you can find and feel any of that in memory of your cousin, aunt and mother in law, then, even in through the sadness, it is my opinion that you are still celebrating Christmas.

    I wish you the best and at the outside, at the worst case, it’s a day, that will pass and the comfort of routine will return. It helped me so much last year to remember that … maybe it will help you!

    hang tough Miss D, and feel quite assured that it’s just fine, to not be fine on Christmas.

    LLL from HTH


    • Hope…thanks so much for thinking to light a candle. This act was one of my mother-in-law’s most common prayers. I am so sad to hear of your loss of Arielle too. I knew you had suffered a great loss which is why you created your blog in the first place. I am honored to be part of your healing circle as you have been part of mine! HTH from LLL Miss D

  7. Sarah said,

    this is true Dolores…very true. Have a gentle and good holiday….


    • You too Nikki…I know you have such a compassionate and gentle heart. Enjoy your lovely daughters during this Christmas Season. I am ever so impressed with your generosity in serving your community. I’m sure you see first hand the struggles that some people have to endure not only at Christmas but all year long.

  8. Steven Fivecats said,

    Osiyo My Friend,
    Your post has special meaning. This hasn’t been a very good Christmas for us. In fact, the past several months have been THE LONG DARK NIGHT OF THE SOUL. I just occasionally get online now. I do drop in on your SL page to see how you are doing when I get the chance. I know you are a praying woman, please pray for us as some drastic changes are coming up very soon in regards to my real job and other things. My mother in law had a stroke on the Dec. 12 and lost her memory for a while. So Debra is in NY with her and her stepfather. We lost a dear friend of ours in Florida four days after that and we were really upset about that. Plus the real job is rather demanding at the end of the year and have been working very long hours. Again, thanks for your post. I pray you’ll have Blue Skies the rest of the week….Steven


    • Osiyo my dear friend…I have been thinking of you often during the last several weeks. You have not only been in my thoughts but in my prayers as well. I have been hoping to hear from you and to know that you are well. I know that this has been a difficult time and you have confirmed that by what you have shared today. I will continue to pray for you and your family. Blessings to you and yours Steven!


Leave a Reply

