A Woman's Voice


THERE’S ALWAYS LEMON PIE! — December 20, 2010 by Laura Davis

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on December 20, 2010
Tags: , ,

MEMORY LANE

I married a man whose mother loved to bake. Naturally, he assumed I would be just like her. I wasn’t. My mother served Jell-O, store-bought pies, or fruit for dessert. I took after her in the extreme. When it was time for dessert, I would get a can of fruit cocktail out of the fridge and say, “Have at it!” For some reason, that didn’t go over too well with my new husband.

 After our honeymoon, we settled in a nice apartment with all the accoutrements any housewife would need. Unopened gifts were our first order of business and they filled me with trepidation. Pots, pans, dishes and cookbooks reminded me of one thing I had failed to mention to my dear hubby. I didn’t know how to cook.

            Unfortunately, that did not stop me from trying.

            One day, while making spaghetti, Jim walked into the kitchen and caught me throwing wet noodles on the wall.

            “What are you doing?” He asked as I peeled the noodles away from the wall.

            “I’m checking to see if they’re done.”

            Something akin to revulsion played itself over Jim’s face. “Do you do that with all the food?”

            “Of course not! Everyone knows you throw spaghetti at the wall to see if it’s done.”

            That night, Jim decided to teach me how to cook.

            While I soon mastered “meals”, my true test would come when I made his favourite—lemon meringue pie. I followed the recipe diligently. Eggs whites were separated with the skill of a professional. My meringue whipped into a perfect foamy froth and before I knew it, I had created my first dessert. The oven was ready. I slipped the pie inside and waited to present my husband with something I knew would be just as good as his mother’s baking.

            My anticipation grew as delicious smells emanated from the kitchen. The timer on the oven sounded and with oven mitts at the ready, I carefully reached in and drew out my perfect pie.

             Only to have both sides of the foil plate I had used, fold in half, dribbling my beautiful pie all over my oven door!

            My husband came running at my cries and stared at the door, then at me. He didn’t say anything. He turned the oven off, retrieved two forks from the kitchen drawer, sat down in front of the oven door and proceeded to eat his pie.

            Instead of tears, there was laughter. Instead of anger there were giggles. I joined him on the floor and we ate the entire pie off the oven door, knowing that in years to come this would be a story to share with our children.

            Today, I make a mean lemon meringue pie, with a proper glass pie plate and I’ve learned a valuable lesson that has kept my marriage strong for 28 years. Compromise is always a good alternative to anger and there are no troubles in life that can’t be solved with a piece of pie!      

Thanks you so much Laura!  This is such a wonderful, uplifting story.  What a Christmas treat. To learn more about Laura please visit her at:

http://www.authorlauradavis.com Come to Me – Experience the life of Christ through the eyes of his mother.

http://interviewsandreviews.blogspot.com

http://thewriterskeep.blogspot.com

 

 
7 Responses to 'THERE’S ALWAYS LEMON PIE! — December 20, 2010 by Laura Davis'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THERE’S ALWAYS LEMON PIE! — December 20, 2010 by Laura Davis'.


  1. A man recognizes a good lemon meringue pie no matter where he finds it.

  2. Peter Black said,

    Laura, you have a knack for making the troubling and serious seem not so bad after all. This is another example of your persevering spirit. Also, your smile comes through in the way you tell a story. 🙂

  3. Andrea said,

    Great story!! I have also had a few of my own missteps in the kitchen. Hearing your story brought a smile to my face. Thanks for sharing!

    Andrea

  4. hope_rising said,

    Laura!

    what a great story! I just love it and I just love your husband! that was the perfect response .. good for him and good for you! What a cute couple!

    I bet your pie is great now!

    Thanks so much for sharing it ….

    Merry Christmas


  5. Laura,
    Lemon pie, one of my favorites. You’ve made me hungry for a homemade one 🙂 Enjoyed your story. Your hubby wasn’t letting that pie go to waste.
    Blessings,
    Barb

  6. Mary Haskett said,

    Laura,
    What a great story. You made me laugh and that’s truly good!

  7. Laura Davis said,

    Thank you everyone! I’m so glad I brought a smile to your day.


Leave a Reply

