A Woman's Voice


SUNNY SIDE UP — December 2, 2010 By Dolores Ayotte

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE,FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE by doloresayotte on December 2, 2010
Tags: , ,

FOR BETTER OR FOR WORSE

Mmmm…mmmm good, don’t you think? This is a picture of my favorite breakfast! Just looking at it makes my mouth water.  Today I am going to use this picture to describe the kind of personality I have and over the years, learned to accept it.

I’m a morning person.  There’s no getting around that fact.  Most mornings I’m up before the crack of dawn, even before the sun pops up.  

I can hardly ever remember getting up on the wrong side of the bed.  Morning people are an odd bunch.  Usually we can hardly wait to start the day and I’m no exception. I vividly recall one such memory that took place many years ago on the way to work with my husband. As I was humming along to a song, he suggested that if I was going to “chirp” all the way to work at 7:00 in the morning, I might have to consider taking a bus.  Ouch!  

My husband is the exact opposite.  At times, he gives new meaning to the term “grumpy” first thing in the morning.  As the day progresses, his face eventually lights up.  By evening I can hardly recognize his sunny nature as my day starts to wind down.  When they say that opposites attract, we certainly prove it in this area of our marriage.

My day coach turns back into a pumpkin long before midnight and certainly long before the “old dog”, as I lovingly refer to him, “hits the sack”.  

My dad used to say, “it takes all kinds to make the world go round”.  How true!  I’m sunny side up and my husband is scrambled. I’m relieved to say that he is definitely not hard-boiled. I like it that way.  It provides for variety in our lives as it challenges us to learn how to respect each other’s differences. It has been said that “variety is the spice of life”.  I know this to be true and I have a sneaking suspicion you do too.

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES 

“Do what you love.  Know your own bone; gnaw at it, bury it, and gnaw at it still.”  (Henry David Thoreau)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

14 Responses to 'SUNNY SIDE UP — December 2, 2010 By Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'SUNNY SIDE UP — December 2, 2010 By Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. chosenwoman said,

    Nice breakfast sis making me hungry I haven’t eaten mine yet..


    • Sis….I haven’t had my breakfast yet either but I’m really hungry after looking at that picture again. 🙂

  2. Audra Krell said,

    My fave breakfast too! My husband and I are like the two of you. He used to be grumpy in the mornings. I have to say over the years, he definitely wakes up slow but is pretty happy. I’m grateful. I also love my morning alone time, the boys all sleep in when they can. I’ll bet you love your morning time too.


    • Hi Audra…yes the guys do tend to mellow with age. I am also grateful for this but like you said, I truly do enjoy my alone morning time too. 🙂

  3. Alida said,

    Love that Thoreau quote!! Neither my husband nor I are morning people… I get up around 10 am and he gets up around 11. Two night owls and it is hard to find a quiet time alone if I decide to sleep in!


    • Hi Alida…welcome to my site. I’m so glad you love the Thoreau quote too. It’s neat that both you and your husband are night owls but you’re right, it makes it more difficult to find a quiet time. I’m sure you’ve figured it out. :).

  4. Ginny Hamlin said,

    LOL. Fun post. I’d say I’m like five-minute oatmeal — I wake up with a go, go, go, mentality. My hubby is like a five-star breakfast; he savors the morning and moves leisurely, So you’re right — opposites do gravitate toward one another. Isn’t it fantastic how that works! We compliment one another by bringing to the other what is la lacking. God is awesome!


    • Thanks Ginny,
      It sounds like we have one more thing in common when waking up with a “go, go, go mentality”. It is neat how opposites do attract.It sounds like your hubby is like mine. Yes indeed, God is awesome!

  5. hope_rising said,

    Miss D!

    very cute article. I too am a morning person… I get more done by 9 am than most people get done by noon… even at work I can see the difference between the people who are morning people and the one’s who peek later in afternoon ….

    have a great day !

    LLL from HTH !


    • Thanks Hope….yes there is a huge difference between morning people and night owls. I had the sneaking suspicion you were the same as me. I know you’re going away for the weekend so have a great one! HTH from LLL Miss D


  6. Hi Dolores –

    I love that breakfast too!

    I’m happiest when I can sleep until 7:30 A.M. Of course, that’s not always possible. For a long time, I faded out by 10:00 P.M., but lately I’ve stretched that to 11:00 P.M.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂


    • Hi Susan,
      After I looked at that picture this morning, my husband and I went out for breakfast and I had the pleasure of eating it. You’re lucky with being able to sleep in until 7:30. I’m usually up a couple of hours earlier than that. I get a ton of things done but come 9:00pm…..
      Blessings to you too!


  7. I use to be a morning person, but now I seem to go to bed early and I still wake up grouchy and want to sleep in.Kids will do that to you!


    • Andrea…if we wake up tired, we all have a tendency to be grouchy. Four sick kids will do it every time.


Leave a Reply

