A Woman's Voice


HOT GLAZED DONUTS…November 8, 2010 by Barbara Russell Robinson

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on November 8, 2010
Tags: , ,

 MEMORY LANE

Hot glazed donuts  . . .  

I was a young girl in elementary school when I learned how to make Mom happy. She sent me down the street to Gene’s Bakery for orders of toast and butter for breakfast, to the drugstore on Main Street for ice cream, or to the local donut shop for hot glazed donuts.

Funny thing, we never owned a toaster, and Mom loved toast with her morning coffee. She loved hot glazed donuts on a cold winter morning with a steaming cup of Community coffee, or perhaps I should say some coffee with her sugar and cream. Hot summer evenings, it was ice cream.

We lived in a small town, and Mom could trust me to run errands for her. She used to brag, “Why, I could send her across the main highway with a $20 bill at five years old, and she’d bring back my correct change.

I was Mom’s little errand runner and Mom’s little lady. There wasn’t much time for being a little girl. I was the oldest of three girls, and it was up to me to set the example. I set some, that’s for sure. I made good grades in school, never got into trouble, and was Mom’s little lady, but I was also a curious tomboy of a girl. That part didn’t always set so well with Mom.

When I played in the red Mississippi clay at my Grandmother Russell’s with doodle bugs Mom would say, “You should stay neat and clean. Girls should be girls.”

“I love playing with these bugs because they look like Volkswagen cars. Just look how they roll up their tiny bodies.” I’d hold out my hand to show her.

Of course, Mom didn’t care to look at bugs, so she’d just shake her head and walk away, and I went on happily playing with the doodle bugs or making mud pies. I wasn’t always the little lady Mom wanted me to be. I loved dirt and mud like a boy, and just like a boy, I usually splashed right through puddles instead of skirting them.

Over the years, I made many footsteps to the bakery, donut shop, or drugstore buying Mom all her favorites. She even taught me how to go to the drugstore and find her favorite hair color in just the right shade. She made me memorize the hair color number. Her hair was supposed to be dark brown after she applied it, at least that’s what the box said, but it was totally black on Mom. She had pale white skin and hazel eyes and dyed her reddish-brown hair coal black because she hated the red highlights girls go for today. The reddish tint kept shining through the brown. She had to have jet black hair, red, red lips, and pearly white teeth like the song Daddy loved. She always kept up her hair and wore it long, hanging straight down her back, or with the ends curved at her shoulders. In her earlier days, as a young mother, she had it permed, but in later years, she’d complain that the perms always frizzed her hair, so she wore it long and straight, like the young girl she always was at heart.

Mom quit school in the 11th grade to stay home and help her father with the younger children when her mother passed. Grandpa had a strawberry farm in Louisiana, and Mom took over the housework and cooking chores, tending to her smaller brothers and sisters and her older sister’s children. She had a large family, four girls and three boys. Mom was next to the youngest.

Mom always talked about growing up on Grandpa’s Louisiana strawberry farm in Springfield. She loved berries, sunshine, and fresh air. She didn’t like packing them though. She was a picker, the fastest one around. She picked two or three handcarriers to my one and had me picking strawberries at dawn when I was five years old before school. And, I picked again, after school in the evenings.

Mom worked for a local schoolteacher who picked us up and took us to her farm, took me to school with her, took us back to the farm after school, and drove us home at dark. So, I’m a product of Louisiana strawberry fields and packing sheds. When I grew up, I decided I liked packing better than picking, and I was a faster packer than a picker. I left the picking to Mom, who could outpick anyone around.

Remember, I told you how Mom loved toast and butter with her morning coffee. Well, I happened to get a two-slice pop-up toaster for a wedding gift. I’d drive to Mom’s early in the morning and bring the toaster with me, so she could have her toast and butter with coffee. I wasn’t there to walk to the bakery for her anymore. Besides, the bakery she loved so much went out of business, and she no longer lived in town, but in the country.

Years later, I wondered why Mom never broke down and bought herself a toaster. Maybe it was because she was the only one in the family who was toast crazy. Mom was like that. She wouldn’t have spent the money to buy herself one. She figured the family needed it for other things. Now, I wonder if she didn’t buy a toaster because she liked our mother/daughter visits with coffee and toast. She brewed coffee so strong it’d curl your toes and knock off your socks, but I’d manage to weaken it as much as possible with plenty of sugar and cream and sip it with her. Her coffee was always too strong for me.

How I wish I could bring Mom toast and butter or a hot glazed donut for her morning coffee. On her deathbed, she asked my youngest sister, “Did you freeze those glazed donuts?”

How I wish I could bring her ice cream on a hot summer day. I miss her so much. Growing up, I shared candy and love notes with her. We talked about boys and puppy love. I miss those Mom-and-daughter talks. You see, she left years ago. She had cancer, and God called her home. Oh what I wouldn’t give just to be able to bring Mom an order of toast and butter, an ice cream . . . or a hot glazed donut. But, I count my blessings that I had this mother’s love. I’m who I am today because of God and her.

Bio

Barbara Russell-Robinson lives in Florida with her husband, cocker spaniel, and adopted shelter cat. She’s a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and the Christian Writers Guild. Visit her at http://barbarajrobinson.blogspot.com. This story has been revised from its first printing at http://usads.ms11.net/glazed.html.

 

 I love this post Barb.  Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful memory with all of us!

20 Responses to 'HOT GLAZED DONUTS…November 8, 2010 by Barbara Russell Robinson'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'HOT GLAZED DONUTS…November 8, 2010 by Barbara Russell Robinson'.

  1. Audra Krell said,

    Hi Barbara, what a wonderful way to start a Monday! What level are you with the Christian Writer’s Guild? I completed my apprenticeship two years ago, and have been to their writer’s conference three times. Have you been?
    Your mom sounds like a pioneer of “the ritual”. Maybe for her, it was all about the process of sending you, the way the cook made the toast, the experience with you. I do not have a coffee maker, it’s all about the ritual of Starbucks for me. What a blessed time with your mother. I can understand why you miss her so terribly. Blessings!


    • Hi Audra,

      Thanks so much for reading and commenting. I’m so glad you enjoyed my memories. I finished the Apprentice and Journeyman Levels, but this is a piece I wrote before taking those classes. It was previously published years ago, but I did revise it before it’s second printing here 🙂 I haven’t been to a conference yet. They’re usually in February when I’m busy with state-mandated testing and can’t take the time off from my regular day job 🙂 How where the conferences? I take it you really enjoy them to go three times. One day, I hope 🙂
      Blessings,
      Barb

  2. chosenwoman said,

    I love glazed donuts I remember eating them on the weekends and then warm them up in the oven to make them nice an hot..don’t eat them now because their not healthy for me, but I can still remember the taste though.


    • Mom would warm them in the oven, too, the leftovers. She loved them hot with hot coffee 🙂 Thanks for reading and responding. Blessings, Barb

  3. Ginny Hamlin said,

    Barbara,
    You paint vivid pictures with your words. I so enjoyed this post.

    My mom is battling stage four breast cancer and I try to cherish the time we have together. She’s been in remission for two years. This past weekend we spent time with her and the rest of the family going through old photographs and recalling great memories.

    Thank you for sharing. The last two paragraphs of your post made me cry happy-tears.


  4. Ginny,
    I’m so sorry to hear about your mother. Cancer took mine, too. Thanks so much for reading and commenting. You made my day. I’m so glad you enjoyed the vivid word pictures and cried happy tears at the end. Time is so precious and once it’s gone, you can’t get it back. It stops for no man, so I’m so glad you’re enjoying your precious mom while you still have her. I still miss mine terribly. Blessings, Barb

  5. Cheryl said,

    Hi Barbara, I am so glad I clicked on your blog. It was great and, very well written from your soul, I might add. I know just how you feel. My mom liked toaster strudels, the ones from the freezer. I would make them for her. She too got cancer. When I stayed with her during that time, I would fix her the toaster studels and decorate the top with the icing. A butterfly, an I love you, a flower just to hear her laugh. She had a wonderful laugh and, I miss her so much still. But, I love glazed donuts and coffee!


  6. Hi Cheryl,
    Sorry about your mom. Glad you enjoyed the article. I always love reading nonfiction pieces like Chicken Soup stories about issues people have gone through in real life. Such a sweet, precious thing you did for your mom with the decoration, and I know it made her happy that she had you for a daughter to take care of her during those times. I’m glad you clicked on my blog, too. I hope you follow. Blessings, Barb


  7. Loved your story. Reminscing about days gone by is so refreshing. Thanks for sharing about your mom. Your relationship sounded so special.


    • Thanks Carolyn. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I wrote it not long after losing her. Writing always helps heal. Treasured memories. Blessings, Barb

  8. Helen said,

    Aww, what a beautiful story! It’s funny how it’s the little things you remember. My Dad passed away April of this year. He used to make french fries, beans, and anything he could experiment with. The first time I made french fries after he went to heaven, I cried. Loved this post!!.


    • Helen,
      I’m so glad you love my post. I find writing about my loved ones help. I treasure the sweet memories. Isn’t it funny how we can remember the food 🙂 Blessings, Barb

  9. hope_rising said,

    Barbara,

    what a beautiful love story. How amazing is it to have your mother’s love, trust and admiration.

    I really liked the story.. I’ll be honest, I think I gained 2 pounds looking at that donut picture… they look soo good. Hot, glazed is one of my favorite donuts … Growing up we always had donuts .. but where i live now, oddly enough they don’t make them much .. so I just miss them.

    great story, I’m sorry you lost her … but so glad you have this story to keep her with you …


  10. Hope rising,
    I love your name 🙂 Thanks for taking the time to read and leave me a comment. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I still carry her in my heart, and she has a way of popping up in my writing. I can still hear her voice in my head. Blessings, Barb

  11. Nan Jones said,

    Barb, you did such a nice job on this piece. Memories are so precious.Now with my mom and dad both gone, I revisit the past often. Thank you for sharing a bit of your heart with us.
    Bless you!
    Nan


    • Nan, Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I’m glad you were touched. I’m sorry about your mom and dad; I lost both of mine, too, my dad at a very early age. Blessings, Barb

  12. Rita Garcia said,

    (((Barb))) Thanks for sharing this heart warming story filled with delightful memories! You touched my heart on so many levels. A mother-daughter love is so special. My mom went home to Jesus nineteen years ago and I still miss her every single day!

    • Barbara Robinson said,

      Rita, thanks for your kind comments. My mother went home 12 years ago, and I still miss her, too, so I know exactly what you mean. Blessings, Barb

  13. Susan said,

    Beautiful story, Barbara! I appreciate you sharing. We are very close to losing my mom, so it has been a difficult month even though we know it is inevitable. Your story really touched my heart.
    Blessings,
    Susan

  14. Barbara Robinson said,

    Susan, I’m so glad my story touched your heart. I hate to hear about your mom. Prayers and blessings for you and your family. Losing loved ones is the most difficult thing in life. I lost Mom over a decade ago, but there are times I still miss her and the ache becomes raw and emotional. Knowing I’ll see her again eases the pain and knowing she’s no longer suffering. Thank you so very much for taking the time to read and comment during your difficult time. I’m glad to know my story helps others. Blessings, Barb


Leave a Reply

