A Woman's Voice


Catherine’s Story — November 3, 2010

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on November 3, 2010
Tags: , ,

MEMORY LANE

Fifty six years ago a young girl in a home for unwed mothers was running down the hall in pain. The nuns were chasing her trying to calm her down and get her back into bed. Anna was about to deliver her first baby. She was scared, she was in pain. The baby was born and named Catherine Louise.

Anna love her baby and wanted to keep her, but she could not. She lived with her grandparents, who had raised her and her two older brothers. Anna was told that if she kept the baby, she would not be living in their house. They were not going to raise another generation. So Anna being as young as she was had to give her baby up for adoption.

A woman in another town heard about the young girl and her baby. She wanted a baby, but could not have one. This woman found the girl and asked for her baby. If Anna could not have her baby she wanted to know that her baby was going to a good home. She went to the hospital and got the baby and handed her to the woman.

Not expecting to take a baby home that day, the woman, Muriel, had to stop and get all sorts of baby items. The baby slept in a dresser drawer for a few nights until a baby’s room could be set up.

Muriel felt blessed that the baby’s name was Catherine Louise. The name had part of the name she would have named her own birth child. That name was Faith Louise. She honored the baby’s birth mother by keeping the baby’s name Catherine Louise.

Catherine (Cathy Lou) grew up as an only child. But she was not a spoiled rotten child. Her parents were strict. She had to toe the mark. Cathy always knew she was adopted. And she always knew she had a brother less than a year younger. Her mom told her the story of her adoption in a very beautiful way. Here is that story: There was this king and queen, they could not have children, but wanted a little girl. One day the queen heard about a little baby whose mommy could not keep her and she went to see that mommy and baby. She brought the baby home, and the king and queen raise the little one as their own.

When Cathy was two years old they rebuilt an old chicken coop and made it her playhouse. It was called “The Little White Castle” and it was painted white.

A side note: This adoption took three years to be complete. Catherine found this out when she was an adult.

Cathy and her parents moved to Florida when she was 7 years old. It always seems odd that they moved there, away from family. It was wonderful being raised a half block from the beach in a time when the beachside was not cluttered with tall buildings.

A side note: Catherine found out as an adult that the main reason for moving was that Muriel and Carl were afraid that Anna was going to try to get Catherine back. She also found out that Carl’s family had not liked Muriel and that his family was against adopting a child. They felt you didn’t know what you were getting when you adopt.  

Thank you Catherine. Catherine is a friend of mine who would like to try her hand at writing. I think she has a wonderful and interesting story to tell. Both Catherine and I would like to know what you think. We would appreciate any comments you leave after this post. 

Catherine is an international performer, composer, teacher, author, and lecturer. She can compose in many styles of music, from classical to punk rock. Catherine has the ability to write a special music program that meets your needs. She can also help you get your song written down and arranged. And she works using music to help people with their memory.

To learn more about Catherine please visit her website:

21 Responses to 'Catherine’s Story — November 3, 2010'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Catherine’s Story — November 3, 2010'.

  1. Fred Ayotte said,

    Beautiful story….funny how when we think things can’t get any worse they always seem to turn out for the better….there must be someone looking out over us….Fred


  2. What a beautiful story. It left me wanting to know more. Keep writing!

    • Catherine said,

      Andrea,

      Thank you. This is the beginning of my real life story. I will continue to write my story. Thank you for the encouragement.

      Catherine

  3. Audra Krell said,

    What a lovely story. Catherine, you do have a gift to write. I believe that you have a series of articles here. You make several points in this article, and while it does leave the reader wanting to know more, it also was a bit confusing. Developing one or two points in each article will leave the reader wanting more, but with a clear understanding of each point.

    • Catherine said,

      Audra,

      Thank you for your compliment.

      I will try to make my story less confusing. I will try to develop each thought and thing that happened in a clearer way.

      Catherine

  4. Kathy Eberly said,

    What a wonderful story! Thanks so much for sharing Catherine’s story!

    • Catherine said,

      Kathy,

      I apologize for taking so long to reply. Thank you for your compliment.

      Catherine


  5. Beautiful story that deserves to be told to help others. May your story serve as a blessing to many others.
    Blessings,
    Barb

    • Catherine said,

      Barbara,

      Thank you.. My hope is that I can help others with my story.

      Catherine

  6. hope_rising said,

    this is a really touching story.

    I will say because of my experience attempting to adopt it was hard for me to read and I had to come back to it. I first, commend those parents for leaving the state, I believe that was wise. Adoptive parents have very few rights, and for precious few they do have, there is no one to help them defend them. It seems these folks did what they had to preserve their family. That little girl is lucky they acted on her behalf that way. It does seem in the long run it was best for her. She deserved a place with a little white castle.

    What is neat about how this story was written is it manages to tell the story of a lifetime in just a few short passages.

    thanks for the story, I’m glad I came back to it.

    • Catherine said,

      Hope Rising,

      I’m glad you came back to it and read it also. Thank you. They were wonderful parents, they were also very strict parents. But they always did what they thought was the best for me.

      Catherine

      • hope_rising said,

        Catherine,

        I had a thought about your story! If you are going to continue to develop it .. maybe you could start it out with the King and Queen analogy .. sort of like a once upon a time begining. Introduce the castle in the back yard first … and then build up the story line. …

        that would be pretty cool !

        just a thought!

      • Catherine said,

        Hope Rising,

        Thank you. I will think about that and how it can be done. There is a section written before the section you have read, so I have to see how I can work things around. Thank you for your suggestion.

        Catherine

  7. Catherine said,

    Thank you all for your comments, suggestions, helpful thoughts, and encouragement. I will take each comment, suggestions, and thoughts and use them to help me write in a better fashion. I will continue to write my story. This is my true life story.

  8. Pat said,

    Catherine, I appreciate your candor and your desire to share this story. Adoption has been important to me from early childhood, for two reasons. My parents lost their firstborn and hoped to adopt a child, but that attempt was foiled by a professional. After I was born, Mom couldn’t have any more children so I grew up as an only child. I longed for siblings and Daddy often teased me by saying he’d buy a baby brother at Robinson’s Dept. Store. Of course, babies were never in stock. Somehow I knew that adoption was very special even if it hadn’t worked for us.
    Then too, one of my cousins was adopted and I think the rest of us kids all knew that we were privileged to have her as one of us.

    As for your writing, I do hope you have someone to work with you on polishing the account. If you live in or near Winnipeg, I’d encourage you to check out our Christian Writers’ group, for we do exactly that. We work together, and our critique is always designed to help a writer improve her or his writing. We are excited to share in the process. If you aren’t able to come, I’ll offer more specific tips via e-mail. I’m sure you’ll enjoy the fairly simple ideas that I can suggest, and you’ll find that the story becomes even more moving. I look forward to hearing from you!

    • Catherine said,

      Pat,

      Thank you for telling me about what happened in your family. I’d love to know more.

      I live in Florida, so, if we could write to each other via email, I would love that. I look forward to any help you can give me. How would you like to exchange email addresses?

      Catherine

  9. Catherine said,

    Dolores,

    Thank you for putting my story on your blog. You and your readers have been a wonderful help. *smiles*

    Thank you,
    Catherine


    • You are very welcome Catherine…it was my priviledge to share a small part of your story. 🙂


  10. What an absolutely beautiful and yet heart wrenching story. I can somewhat relate as my first two nieces are adopted (from different mothers) – both mothers had different situations, but situations in which they knew it was in the best interest for their little baby girls. Proudly, I am the Godmother to one of those girls. They are both being raised knowing they are adopted – and they keep in touch with their birth parents… my brother and sister-in-law’s feeling on it was – what’s wrong with a child knowing they have more people out there who love them? I can’t imagine how hard it must have been to give up a child – but being a good mother is in knowing your limitations and what is in the best interest of your child.

    I especially loved that Muriel was going to name her daughter (if she had been able to conceive) Louise! It was a sign from God – that this was meant to be – I truly believe God and our angels are constantly “showing us the way” – it’s just a matter of paying attention to what they’re telling us! 🙂

    ((HUGS))
    Christine

    • Catherine said,

      Christine,

      I agree that part of being a good mother is knowing our limitations and doing what is best for our children.

      And I agree it was meant to be just the way it happened. Yes, we need to pay attention to what God is telling us.

      *hugs*
      Catherine


Leave a Reply

