A Woman's Voice


THE REASON FOR MY BLOG — October 28, 2010 Dolores Ayotte

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE by doloresayotte on October 28, 2010
Tags: , ,

A Wo-Man’s Voice

At the end of January 2010, I wrote my very first blog for The Word Guild.  TWG is a Christian Canadian based writers group.  At that time, when I had been a member of this group for less than a year, I was invited by Judith Lawrence to write a monthly blog. She is the person responsible for the authors’ blogs which features daily posts on a variety of topics by fellow authors. 

First of all I was very honored by this request but I was also frightened at the same time. This was a very new concept to me and I didn’t know if I could come up with enough creative topics that would be of interest to other people.  There is another reason I was intimidated as well.  It was about the comments others might make about my posts. 

To be perfectly honest, as the process unfolded, it actually became more about the fear of people not reading my blog and not making any comments rather than about the comments they might make.  It kind of became like a catch twenty-two.  I soon came to realize the importance of getting feedback especially when I had worked so hard and stretched myself beyond my comfort zone in this unfamiliar way. I thought that I was alone with this view so I never let it deter me. 

It is at this time when I was inspired to investigate the idea of blogging more frequently on my own blog.  I wanted to offer other women and men the same opportunity that I was given.  You know what I discovered?  All my guest bloggers were exactly like me in their expectations.  They were honored, eager, and equally excited to see their creative abilities, but the thing that mattered to them the most was the reactions of others to what they had written. 

All of them could hardly wait to read the comments they received.  After they read these comments, they would sometimes comment again themselves.  It was as if the article and the follow-up to the article via the comments created an opportunity to form the beginnings of a relationship.  Those that did comment seemed to be relating to what the writer of the blog had written and this started a small but rewarding thread of positive communication. 

Therefore, the reason for my blog is to create an opportunity for others to share a small part of themselves in a way that they may not normally have the occasion to do. Each of my guest bloggers comes with a different background and this offers the variety I am seeking. Perhaps, you will find something that you can relate to and you will be inspired to share a few words about yourself by leaving a comment. If not, that’s okay too. However, I do want you to know what my blog is all about…it’s that of reaching out to other women and men in order to embrace the importance of what each and every one of us has to say! 

Whether you read a post, comment on one, or become a guest blogger, I would like to thank you for taking the time to visit with us today. I sincerely appreciate it.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“The beauty of the soul shines out when a man bears with composure one heavy mischance after another, not because he does not feel them, but because he is a man of high and heroic temper.” (Aristotle)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

21 Responses to 'THE REASON FOR MY BLOG — October 28, 2010 Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THE REASON FOR MY BLOG — October 28, 2010 Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Phoenix said,

    Hi Dolores,

    I loved reading about the story of how your blog came to be, and your intentions for it. I think your blog is fantastic, and I love reading your posts and the posts of your guests because I can relate to, or learn from every single one of them.

    Your blog has inspired me in so many ways, and has helped me through some very tough days of late, so I would like to thank you, from the bottom of my heart, for creating such a welcoming and inspiring blog 🙂


    • Phoenix,
      Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement. It means the world to me that I, along with my guest bloggers, have touched your life in such an inspirational way. You have done the same for me. 🙂


  2. I remember when you had decided that you wanted your blog to become a place where everyone could shine. You must be proud because it has become exactly that. Great job!


    • Thanks Andrea…I remember so well when you phoned me after that conference in L.A. and you were so inspired to make a difference in this world. Your “voice” was the one that motivated me to have a “voice” and to create the opportunity for others to have one too. Yes…we can all shine. Lighting another person’s candle does not take from us but only adds to the “Light” in our world.

  3. chosenwoman said,

    thank you sis for sharing your story it’s nice to hear why people blog..


    • You are so welcome sis…thanks for stopping by and leaving such a kind compliment! 🙂

  4. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    People sharing their own uniques thoughts in a blog is a unigue way of allowing each to have their own point of view. Although we are all different, respecting another’s view point only enlightens our own. The world would not be what it is today without different ideas and discussions. Your blog allows readers to see another point of view without trying to change that opinion.It allows respect. Thanks!!!!


    • Thanks Lorraine for your comments. Your blog writing has served to prove the point of your message about our own unique thoughts and styles. Your blogs have enhanced “A Wo-Man’s Voice”. Thanks for being a contibutor to my blog and for sharing your experiences with my readers and me. 🙂

  5. Barb Newman said,

    Hi Dolores,
    Thanks for sharing an interesting perspective on the purpose of your blog. I never thought of the interactive aspect of blogging as lending itself to the uniqueness of the writing experience!!


    • Hi Barb,
      Yes…I think blogging is like any other unique connection or interaction. The bloggers can share so much about themselves but it’s so much more rewarding to create a relationship so that all parties can feel some of the rewards and benefits of sharing. Reciprocity is very important to me. Circles of friendship create links so that we can all feel a part of the “gold chain” of life. 🙂

      • Barb Newman said,

        Well said…I hope you put that in your book!!!
        And yes I have never met you but I feel as though I know you. You are a lovely and pure soul. Thanks for sharing yourself with me!! ( and your other readers).


  6. I enjoy reading them and being a part of them. Thanks for starting this one. Blessings, Barb


    • Thanks Barb…I really appreciate your support. I love that you read my blog and I am truly grateful that you are a guest blogger. Any time you would like to send me another article, please feel free. Blessings to you and yours! 🙂

  7. Kathy Eberly said,

    Hi Dolores,
    Thank you for sharing about your journey. I appreciate your blog and the things that you share. I’ve been blogging since February or March of this year and as I started my blog, I thought the same thing. I wondered if people actually read my blog. I still do. I wonder if God still has me in mind to write it. I just want you to know I appreciate your in-put and your support!


    • Thanks so much Kathy…I appreciate your support and I really enjoy your blog too. It is so wonderful to know that people are reading our words. Don’t forget that you are welcome to share a post on mine any time. 🙂

  8. Ginny Hamlin said,

    I enjoy your posts and the posts of your guest bloggers. I always leave your blog feeling encouraged and this visit is no exception. You are such a gracious woman. God bless you your adorable hubby! 😉


    • Thank you so much Ginny! If you always leave my blog feeling encouraged than I have satisfied my goal of touching your life in a postive way. Blessings to you and yours! 🙂

  9. Susan said,

    I agree with you, Dolores. It is a frightening thing to put ourselves out for others to examine. But it seems we are compelled to do this, and then we wait anxiously to see if there are comments, if we have reached anyone, touched their heart, or evoked a long lost memory. I believe that If our words, whether written or spoken, reach the one person that needs to hear (read) what has poured forth from our heart and soul, then our journey for that day is complete.
    The first time I wrote for your blog, and I saw actual comments, it so touched my heart that others cared enough to leave their reactions to my writing. I truly appreciate the opportunity you offer others to share your blog. You are an inspiration! 🙂 Susan


    • Susan,
      Thank you so much for both your encouraging comments and for being a guest blogger. I feel so fortunate to have met you this way and for you to know the joy of receiving “actual comments” on my blog. I wanted to share this pleasure with all of you because it means so much to me too, even if it is still a little frightening at times. You are very right. We are “compelled” to write and we are saying “yes”. I really enjoy your blog as well. Any time you would like to share more on “A Wo-Man’s Voice” please feel free. 🙂

  10. hope_rising said,

    Hey Miss D!

    Nice post! I think you have a terrific set of guest writers. I sometimes read back on stories I have already read a few weeks later because something will come to mind or remind me.

    This is a great forum you have created here.

    I agree, I think your writers are all pretty unique and with a nice variety, poems, stories quotes.. etc.

    That’s pretty neat that you did another blog! Mine was just supposed to be a test blog …. I was actually just wanting to do a test run to help out a friend. I haven’t looked back! LOL ….

    funny the way it is!

    My favorite part of your blog, is having gotten to know you…. what a treat!
    I’m still thinking about that tea …

    have a great day

    LLL from HTH …


    • Hope,
      Thank you so much on behalf of both my guestwriters and me. I am so glad I found you and you have become one of them.

      You have been such an inspiration to me with your lovely poetry and articles. As you well know, everyday and in every way, you start my day with inspiration and hope!

      HTH (Here’s To Hope) from
      LLL (Live, Laugh, Love) Miss D 🙂


Leave a Reply

