A Woman's Voice


HOOKED ON FAIRYTALES — September 15, 2010 by Barbara Robinson

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on September 15, 2010
Tags: ,

MEMORY LANE

Before I was old enough to read, Mom hooked me on fairytales. She bought a new one for me each month out of the small social-security check she received after my father’s death. She’d rock me to sleep reading my favorite fairytales each night. I was only four years old when God called my dad home one cold Christmas Day, from a charity hospital.  

Four years earlier, I’d been born in a charity hospital in New Orleans, Louisiana. We never had much, but I hadn’t realized it. To me, before Daddy died, we had everything.   We lived in a small town in a rambling, white apartment house. We only rented, but I didn’t realize what that meant at the time. To me, we were rich, for I was rich living in my make-believe world of fairytales, rich in sunshine and fresh air, swinging in my board-and-rope swing underneath the giant pecan tree in our front yard.   

I was a happy little girl, who had everything she could possibly want. I had a doting daddy, a loving mom, and a precious little sister, who was only four months old when our daddy died. Daddy would rock us and sing us to sleep singing about our beautiful blue eyes, or Mother would read and rock us to sleep with fairytales. My world was rich, happy, and content. I wanted for nothing.    

But, Mother gifted me with a great present– a passion for reading. I started first grade at five years old with a love of books. By my fifth grade year, I read every Nancy Drew mystery I could get my hands on, and my reading teacher read the class the series of Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Those classics on Plum Creek brought scenes racing through my head. I could visualize Laura and Nellie, and I’ve been a book lover all my life.     

If teachers and parents wish to cultivate a love and passion for the art of reading, perhaps the answer isn’t so complicated. Read to youngsters and make those books come alive for them like my mother and teacher did for me. They may not have realized the life-long skill they were building, but they laid a foundation that couldn’t be shaken, and I’m still reading and writing today.

I know life is no fairytale, but neither is the Bible and God’s Word. Reading is so important as an educational tool to be successful across the curriculum. But, it could very well be the gift we can give to make a powerful difference in lives not just on earth, but to lead others heaven bound through the best book of all, the Bible, God’s Word. If our children can’t read well enough, they may miss important life messages in the instruction manual for life. Reading is more important than all the store-bought gifts money can buy. It teaches us about life and living. 

If you’d like to read book reviews of some of my favorite books visit me and sign to follow my blog at http://barbarajrobinson.blogspot.com. I hope to see you there.     

Barbara Russell-Robinson is a reader and writer who lives in Florida with her husband and cocker spaniel, Sunflower. She is polishing a novel titled True Hidden Treasures. Keep abreast at her blog and on Facebook.

Thanks Barb for sharing your passion for reading with us.

PLEASE NOTE: Subscriptions to my blog are FREE.

 

 

9 Responses to 'HOOKED ON FAIRYTALES — September 15, 2010 by Barbara Robinson'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'HOOKED ON FAIRYTALES — September 15, 2010 by Barbara Robinson'.

  1. Cheryl said,

    Hi Barb,

    I thought your Blog was wonderful. Took me back to when I was a child and, when I was a mother of young girls. I also read to my grandchildren the same fairy tales I loved as a kid and, still do. I will be following your blogs as they are very interesting. Keep up the great work.

    Cheryl

  2. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Beautiful article Barbara! You are so right!! Reading is such an incredible way to educate and the Bible has everything we need to know about life!! I also remember those childhood days when there was time to read and everything was so simple. Kids are so busy today. I hope they do find time to read for pleasure!! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Judith said,

    Thanks Barbara. Yes, I too had a great love of reading from the time I was a child. I don’t remember being read to but I think I must have been. I know I had a library card from an early age and went every Saturday to borrow new books. I still love to read and write.


  4. Hi Cheryl, Lorraine, and Judith, thanks so much for leaving a comment. You’ve made my day. I’m so glad you’re following my blog, Cheryl. I love reading and writing–they’re my passions 🙂 Thanks, Dolores for this opportunity to share. Blessings, Barb

  5. Nan Jones said,

    Great article, Barb. I, too, have fond memories of childhood books and reading times. When I was around ten years old, we had an especially comfy old recliner. That was my reading spot after school. I curled up with my favorite books and traveled miles and miles away in my imagination. Still do, in fact.

    Love you!
    Nan


  6. Nan, thanks. I still travel through the pages of a good book, too. I used to love my dad’s old chair. Barb

  7. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Thank you Barb for writing from your heart about your passion for reading! I have to tell you this blog brought back so many memories of my childhood love of fairtytales and reading and also the joy of reading to my children but it tugged at my heart when I remembered when my first grandson Jordan was born over fifteen years ago and then my granddaughter Sarah fourteen years ago. As little babies I read to them and they never seemed to be satisfied with one or two bedtime stories especially Sarah who was a member of the library at the very young age of three. Sarah read fluently at the age of three and amazed me with her love of words. While babysitting or just spending time with Sarah it was constant “what does that say Nana?” or “read the comics to me” and it never ceased until she could read everything herself. Sarah is almost fourteen and Jordan is fifteen and both are incredible readers and excellent students! Reading has to be one of the greatest gifts from God and I see that gift in these beautiful grandchildren!


  8. So glad my article brought back sweet memories for you, Shirley 🙂 and reading and writing are both sweet gifts from God 🙂 Blessings, Barb


  9. Thanks Barbara for your beautiful story. You are a wonderful person and writer! And so kind 🙂


Leave a Reply

