A Woman's Voice


MY PHANTOM TOOTH — September 9, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE,INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES by doloresayotte on September 9, 2010
Tags:

A Wo-Man’s Voice

Have any of you ever had a root canal?  No fun, right?  Many years ago, when I was over tired, one of my teeth gave way and I had to go on antibiotics and then eventually have a root canal. 

The procedure itself wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be.  What concerned me the most was that the tooth giving me the trouble wasn’t a back tooth that could be easily concealed if things didn’t go well.  It would be very evident if I lost this tooth.  

Over the years, I have had a lot of trouble with this root canal.  I had to have it redone about ten years ago because it got re-infected. As recently as three years ago it was necessary to have oral surgery to treat it once again.  It seems that every time I overdo things and let myself get run down this phantom tooth acts up and starts to ache.  It’s almost like a built-in alarm system to remind me to slow down.  I’m gradually learning how to better listen to this body of mine by being aware of my inner signal, my phantom tooth. 

We all have inner guidelines to help us not overdo.  Mine just happens to be my tooth with supposedly dead roots which, somehow or other, can still ache.  There is now a weakness in this area where a healthy tooth once existed.  What is your weakness and how does it manifest itself?  What is it trying to tell you?   I’m slowly learning to listen to my body. It doesn’t mean I always like what it has to say but I know I should obey.  When I don’t, I’m the one who pays the price in the end. Can you relate to this?

____________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“Health, Learning & Virtue will ensure your happiness; they will give you a quiet conscience, private esteem & public honor.”  (Thomas Jefferson 1743-1826) 

____________________________________________________________________________________________

14 Responses to 'MY PHANTOM TOOTH — September 9, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MY PHANTOM TOOTH — September 9, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Shirley sarafinchan said,

    I sure can relate Dolores!!! After my root canal and then tooth extraction I still have toothaches and it seems to be when I’m stressed or run down. I too have been trying to listen to my body and my phantom tooth is right there to say “slow down”!


  2. Shirley,
    I was sure you would be able to relate to this “after” the root canal experience. I never used to like my teeth when I was young and now I can’t believe the length I will go to save them. 🙂

  3. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    I sure can. Old injuries often reappear when we over do things or are stressed. I hurt my ankle many years ago and when I am not up to par it just aches. I too have the tooth situation but mine was extracted.When I am over worked or tired the left side of my face hurts including the area where this tooth was. I think it is also called AGE and our bodies DO NOT FORGET!! They are definite signals to slow down.Thanks for sharing an inspiring story !!


    • Lorraine,
      I figured you could relate too. I remember how much you suffered with you abssessed tooth while you were away. Yuck…this aging process is not for the faint of heart! 🙂

  4. hope_rising said,

    I have never had a root canal so I don’t have that alarm built in, but I do have tell tale signs that my life needs attention ….

    I get a funny rhythmn in my heart. For the most part, I just assume my heart is beating, I don’t feel it… but now and again I can feel it and if I look around my life I can see, comprimised sleep habits, too many hours working etc. It seems this is common in my family, It would concern me, but since a lot of folks in my family report this and longevity seems to be common, I thinks it’s just a reminder. Once I slow down, it corrects….

    I also get super clumsy. I bump into the door jam as I walk through or knock my head getting in my truck. I’ll be holding a coffee cup, then I won’t be (LOL) and have a mess to pick up, for no good reason, just done holding it I guess.

    Though I have not had a root canal, I have had a TON of dental work done, I am with you Miss D! I am amazed at how far I’ll go to keep a tooth! Apparantly I really really love my teeth! And no longer take them for granted!

    great post! Very interesting persepective!


    • Hope,
      It’s funny how each individual has her/his own built in alarm system. At times, I’m so stubborn that I don’t always heed the warning signals. I’m getting better at it with age, or maybe I should say with maturity.

      I know what you mean about having a TON of dental work. I almost have more gold in my mouth than I do on my fingers. (LOL) Are you ready to share more of your talent on “a Wo-Man’s Voice”? It would be great if you were! 🙂

  5. Barb Newman said,

    Good Article Dolores,
    As a personal trainer I encourage people to ‘listen to their bodies’.I also rely on an open dialogue with them to let me know if somrthing feels not quite right. WE are all human and have good days , great days and so-so days. I personally can tell when to slow down when my old broken bone injuries begin to ache. ( I am all about keeping my own teeth if possible)!!


    • Barb,
      I didn’t know you were a personal trainer but I sure agree with the advice you’re giving to your clients. As we age, we have all kinds of aches and pains to take into consideration. Thanks for your comments. 🙂

  6. Ginny Hamlim said,

    I’ve had a root canal–no fun, but thankfully once it was done it was done. I get tightness in my shoulders, which signals me to check in with God. I’ve learned to brake for that stop sign.


    • Hey Ginny…it sounds like you were luckier than me with your root canal. but it looks like your shoulder is your alarm system. We all have our signals. I love your new FB picture. :).


  7. My body’s signals pointing me in the direction to rest and slow down are my knees and I always get a sore throat when I am overtired. The spring before I had anxiety, which was due to burnout. I was on antibiotics four times for a sore throat. If we just listen to our bodies, which I sometimes find hard to do, they will always tell us how balanced or unbalanced we are.


    • Yes Andrea…I know your knees and throat are your signals to slow down. Tomorrow is the beginning of the first day of that slow down time with the kids starting school. It’s been a big summer for you with Jeremy away so much! Enjoy your day! 🙂

  8. Susan said,

    I can definitely relate! And the older I get the stronger the signals get… they keep telling me I’m not as young as I think I am, so slow down! My signals are the same as Andrea’s… my knees and throat! Thanks for the reminder, Dolores, that we do need to listen to our bodies and let some things stew on the back burner while we replenish ourselves with a well deserved rest!


    • Susan,
      I know exactly what you mean about getting older and receiving stronger signals to slow down. It seems that our minds remain young but our bodies can’t always keep up. thanks for you comments. 🙂


Leave a Reply

