A Woman's Voice


MEMORY LANE ~ REMEMBERING WHEN… ~ September 5, 2011by Linda Briscoe

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on September 5, 2010
Tags: , , , ,

My Sister’s Voice 

When I was a child we walked to school on the very first day! Brand new outfit and school bag, packed with crayons and all new supplies.

I walked and walked for what seemed like forever, happy to finally be at school, only to realize that there would be the same walk home at lunch, then back to school and home again!

The days would be glorious in the fall, still warm enough for just a sweater.  The leaves would start to fall to the ground and the winds would pick up.

Before I knew it, the cold would be in the not too distant future. It was time to bundle up to make the walk to school as bearable as possible.  Now, in the bitterness of winter, lunch bag packed, off to school I went.  Bundled tightly, with my scarf around my forehead and neck, I braved the long walk to school.

Oh…it could get bitterly cold, so cold as the wind blew through my not so warm coat and the well worn boots which had known other winters.  Is this cold winter ever going to pass?

Then it changed.  The days started getting longer, the sun started getting stronger, and I was very excited as I could spot the first patch of pavement.  The ditches were so inviting filled with melting ice and water.  Trusting to step on the now thin ice and not sink…only to find a boot full of water was merely a fine line away…just one more step and a little more pressure before the ice cracked and I could feel the SPLOOSH as the cold water seeped into my boots.  A young child and a ditch full of water are like two magnets being drawn to each other. 

On that walk home from school, the snow was only going to bring the worst of spring, with its dirty snow banks and slippery sidewalks after a cold night.  Getting splashed by a passing car was the norm as I surged forward on my long walk home.

Try as I might to keep my spring coat clean and the runners that I changed into after school as I rid myself of my heavy rubber boots was an impossible feat.

Then finally, the lovely spring weather came and stayed like the pavement rid of ice and snow for the season.  Now, with a skipping rope in hand, it was like heaven. All the things I loved most, fresh air, rope to jump, light clothing, and the walk to school was almost effortless.  Almost a year had passed since the first day of school and it made me so aware of the changing seasons. What was it like for you?

Thank you Linda!

 ____________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“Plodding wins the race.”  (Aesop)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

5 Responses to 'MEMORY LANE ~ REMEMBERING WHEN… ~ September 5, 2011by Linda Briscoe'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MEMORY LANE ~ REMEMBERING WHEN… ~ September 5, 2011by Linda Briscoe'.

  1. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    That was a wonderful article Linda! I also remember those days as well. Especially slipping on the ice when I walked in the puddles!!!!…..those were the days!!!!

  2. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Thank you Linda for the wonderful walk down memory lane! I too remember that very long walk and can certainly relate to all the seasons, some I loved and some not so much especially the snow and wind during the winter months. I loved spring and fall the very best and recall the smell of both seasons with the beautiful lilacs in the spring and the falling leaves and smell of autumn. I loved those days and Mom’s lunches, seems just like yesterday!!

  3. Brita Addams said,

    I remember those days so well. My mother walked me to the bus stop one day and across the road was a line of garter (garden??) snakes and as much as she assured me I just needed to step over them, I couldn’t bring myself to do it. To this day, I am petrified of snakes! Your article brought back some lovely memories though. Thanks for sharing.
    Brita Addams
    Author of Serenity’s Dream
    http://www.britaaddams.com

    • Lori Denis said,

      I loved reading your article Aunty! We have an amazing array of wonderfully gifted writers in our family I am finding out!

      I could picture all the seasons so vividly as you describd them!

      Take care,
      Love Lori


      • I would like to thank you all for your comments on Linda’s article. It was neat to travel down memory lane. 🙂


Leave a Reply

