A Woman's Voice


WHAT’S YOUR TALENT? — August 30, 2010 by Lorraine Gauthier

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on August 30, 2010
Tags: , ,

MEMORY LANE

How many times in life do we get ourselves into something “before” we know what actually is involved? At a young age fear does not even enter the picture. I did this when I was about eleven years old. I wanted to jump off the diving board in the deep end at the public pool; however I had never taken swimming lessons. I loved the pool so much and could go under water but I did not really know how to swim. In any event I thought the best way to learn was to just jump in the deep end and then I would have to swim…right?  Well that is exactly what I did. I jumped in and then dog paddled under water until I got to the ladder by the side of the pool. Within a few minutes the whistle blew and the life guard called me over. He knew that I could not properly swim even though I thought I did okay. I was instructed to take lessons and never do it again. I thought it was pretty neat that I could survive 6 feet of water without any swimming lessons. I had absolutely no fear. 

This has happened to me a few times in my life….where I “acted” and then “thought” about the consequences later. The most memorable one is in 1974 when my mother convinced me to run for Miss Manitoba. Being the 4th daughter in line and apparently getting the answer “no” from my older sisters I agreed to enter…on one condition. No one could know about this except the two of us. This would be our little secret. Well she was so eager for me to enter the pageant that she went and got the application from the local grocery store herself. We filled it out and she mailed it. This was pretty exciting for my mother. For me it was no big deal because I did not think anything would come of it. 

Well the day arrived when I received a call to attend an initial meeting for all of the applicants. There were about fifty women there. They were all shapes and sizes and of different beauty. I thought…. great, I am safe, they will pick the top ten and no one will ever need to know I even tried out for this competition. I did my quick interview for about ten minutes and off I went. They said if I were to be picked as one of the top ten, I would get a call in the next few days and if not I would receive a letter. 

I was relieved. I did what my mom wanted and now it would be over…or so I thought. Remember I said sometimes we “act” and then we “think”!  Well, I got chosen as one of the ten finalists. I would be in the newspaper…now what? I had absolutely “no talent”.   I had about a week to come up with a talent. I couldn’t sing, I couldn’t dance, and I couldn’t play an instrument, what the heck would I do?  I prayed! Then I got an answer…I could “talk”! 

So with the grace of God I wrote a speech on what I thought beauty really was to me.  I said, “it is what we are inside that makes us beautiful”. I also said, “it is not what we look like, not how much money we have or where we live. It is not about class or style or race or sex. It is about how we live our lives. It’s about what kind of heart we have! That is what makes us beautiful!”

I was nineteen years old and once again I dove into the deep end with no lessons. I took a huge risk for someone I loved and continue to love today, my Mom! I had what I thought was “no talent” yet I did win the title of Miss Manitoba 1974. It is truly amazing when we look deep inside and work with God to learn how we can climb so many mountains and find our talent. This was a big jump for me and I am so glad that I took it. It is a year I will never forget and it changed my life forever!! Thanks Mom!

Thanks so much Lorraine for sharing such a fond memory with us! It’s wonderful to see your smiling faces.

 

18 Responses to 'WHAT’S YOUR TALENT? — August 30, 2010 by Lorraine Gauthier'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'WHAT’S YOUR TALENT? — August 30, 2010 by Lorraine Gauthier'.

  1. Andrea Cockerill said,

    I love that you acted before you thought. Many times our minds convince us not to do the very thing God is leading us to do, Grandma must of been so proud of you when you won!!! And I love the theme of the speech you choose to do!

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks Andy!! You are so right! If we are prepared to feel a little fear and do it anyway we are going to grow. I think if we knew what was on the other side for alot of things we may not try. It just may be too uncomfortable.It was a fun year and gramma loved it as much as I did! Thanks for your comment!

  2. hope_rising said,

    Lorraine!

    I laughed right out loud when I read the first sentance

    How many times in life do we get ourselves into something “before” we know what actually is involved?

    I have started so many projects now with the question “How hard can it be?” and 9/10 out of ten .. the answer reveals as pretty darn hard! I have installed a custom pattern hardwood floor, based on a DIY video I saw on the internet .. that was clearly time lapsed and left out a lot of detail. I have taken on HUGE projects at work that have pushed me to almost the breaking point of with how many hours I had to work to get “it” done one time .. the list goes on and on … so now … when I hear myself think “how hard can it be?” that is my hint .. to start finding a professional! LOL…

    congrats on your win in the competition. I loved the content of your speech .. what a huge insight for 19! I can tell you at 19, the only insight I was capable of was what color mascara should I wear now that I’ve dyed my hair blue! Oh dear!

    lovely post!

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks Hope!! All I can say is that God found it for me! I have turned to him since a very young age and am so incredibly grateful that I have this closeness! I am a very lucky person!!

  3. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Oh to be so brave and to have such trust in God that he revealed so quickly to you one of the greatest talents he has given mankind to be able to “talk” and to talk freely about a subject that most of us have difficulty with througout our lifetime, our inner beauty.

    Thank you Lorraine for this beautiful memory, I love what you wrote and I love the pictures and I know Mom is still very proud of you to this day!

    Love Shirley

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks so much Shirley!! It was a very special year! It was this year that taught me when you give an inch it is a yard for someone else!! Love is all about giving!! I was very lucky to find this out at such a young age! I thank God for this!

  4. Desiray said,

    It’s a beautiful thing when we allow the Lord to speak to us so quickly and that we listen to His voice.

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks Desiray! You are so right!!!

  5. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Thanks Dolores for posting my article and your comment. Doing something out of love for someone else really makes you grow. That was the case for me and I am very happy I did this for mom!! It ended up being good for me too!! 🙂

  6. Audra Krell said,

    This is a fantastic post! I enjoyed it tremendously. Your lack of fear is inspiring. It’s when we release fear, that wonderful, beautiful things happen. Thanks so much for sharing, I enjoyed the pictures too!

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks so much Audra for your kind words. Feel the fear and do it any way! There is a book with that title that I have read many times. Do not let the fear stop you!! I love your name. It reminds me of Audra (Linda Evans) from the Big Valley! It is a beautiful name!! Thanks again!! Lorraine

  7. Ginny Hamlim said,

    Lorraine,
    Were you at the McKinley pool in Sacramento, California in 1971? LOL. I was eleven years old and did the exact same thing. What are the odds! I got the same reaction from the lifeguard, too. Thank you for taking me back in time. 😉

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      When you were 11, I was 16. It is funny how we have so much trust when we are young!! Thanks for sharing Ginny!!!

  8. Barb Newman said,

    Thanks for the lovely and heart warming article Lorraine!
    Some very inspiring messages!
    You were wonderful then as you are wonderful now.

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks Barb!! It is funny how we see ourselves when we are young. Often it is not how others see us! I really do appreciate your thoughtful words!!! You are too kind!!!

  9. Kathy Eberly said,

    Thanks so much for sharing your article, Lorraine! You never know what might happen when you say yes!

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Yes, you are right Kathy! You never do know until you try. Trying for someone I loved was easier than trying for myself!! Glad that I did it for my mom and for me!! I ended up being the winner!! 🙂

  10. Laurette said,

    Lorraine, you are as beautiful now as you were then, my friend.
    We all love you.


Leave a Reply

