A Woman's Voice


THIS SIDE OF THE WALKER — August 18, 2010 by Lorraine Gauthier

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE by doloresayotte on August 28, 2010
Tags: , ,

A Wo-Man’s Voice

By request, “This Side Of  The Walker” is back. A new picture has been added…the lady with the purple nail polish! 

Milestone birthdays often come with big changes. This was the case for me. My 50th year was a big one, I traveled to Rome, London and Paris. What a year it was…a year for new beginnings and a year to reflect. My travels took me to another part of the world but this was little compared to what I was about to experience.

While getting a manicure, I happened to come across a lady who had purple nail polish! I found this to be a pretty interesting color so I asked her about it. She told me that she belonged to a group that lined danced and were Red Hatters. I thought what a great idea!!!! How do I join?? She said that I first had to learn how to line dance. She said this group was a level above beginners so I would have to learn beginners first. I asked where.

One thing led to another and another and I did join the beginner group. I also joined the Tuesday morning group so I could be a Red Hatter. While learning the beginner steps I started to watch a more ADVANCED group on Friday mornings. They were very good. Everything just seemed to flow….it looked so easy. I wanted to be one of them. I started to stick around and did my best to catch on.

It was so very difficult because most of the dances were known to the others and were just being rehearsed not taught. The reason is because they were practicing for demos!! Demos…what are demos I asked. Demos are shows that these lovely ladies put on for seniors in nursing homes etc. What a fabulous idea!! I want to do that too!!  BUT I had to become a better dancer. So I practiced and practiced until I could be part of the show. What a novel idea. I could do volunteer work while doing what I LOVE to do….. DANCE!!!

I have seen so many less fortunate people, of all ages with all kinds of handicaps smile and sing when they hear the music and see us dance. I even get to dance at my Mom’s Assisted Living Complex!! This has been so incredibly wonderful for me because it is just a wonderful way for me to give!!! I do however prefer to be on “THIS SIDE of the WALKER” !!

Thanks so much Lorraine for sharing such a vibrant article with us. Great pictures. I just had to slip this one in of Erma.  She is still dancing up a storm at 93 years young. Happy Birthday Erma!

  


,

11 Responses to 'THIS SIDE OF THE WALKER — August 18, 2010 by Lorraine Gauthier'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'THIS SIDE OF THE WALKER — August 18, 2010 by Lorraine Gauthier'.

  1. hope_rising said,

    What a great story and what a great way to share some love with people who really need it.

    When I was younger, there wasn’t assisted living, there was just nursing homes … and we used to go in with our guitars and do little performances… this reminded me of that…

    I wonder if there’s something around here like that I can do ! now you got me thinking!

    funny you should mention the purple, I was getting my hair done the other day, just as a delivery of purple hair extensions were being delivered to my stylist … the next thing ya know ……

    Enjoy 50 .. from what I hear it’s the new 40. Lordy, I hope that’s true! lol!

  2. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Thanks so much Hope for your lovely comments. I have taken up clogging too and just love it!! We do demos as well but for the ordinary folk!! Demos at senior homes gives you quite the feeling!!! I just love to see the smile on all of those faces! Keep Well! Thanks,Lorraine

  3. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Good Morning Lorraine,

    It was so lovely to see your smiling face this morning and I thoroughly enjoyed your article. I remember very well when you first started line dancing and the Red Hats and have watched you grow into a wonderful dancer not only with line dancing but clogging also and have had the opportunity to join you at some of the senior nursing homes and watch you entertain. As I watched you dance I also looked around at your audience and it gave me such a great feeling to see the faces light up as the music and dancing began. Keep up the great work Lorraine and in giving you have received!!

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks so much Shirley!! Dancing and clogging have really given me something very postive in my life. I enjoy all of the people I have met as well as the mind and body exercise. The Red Hat group is so enjoyable as well. Meeting once a month is such a delight!! Thanks again for your comments!!!

  4. Mary Haskett said,

    A lovely article Lorraine. What a positive way to share your joy.

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks so much Mary for your kind words!!!

  5. Barb Newman said,

    Keep up the great work Lorraine and Thanks for the lovely article!

    • Lorraine Gauthier said,

      Thanks so much Barb for your comments. I still do aerobics that I have done for over 25 years and love it too!! THe demos just add a little more when you have that senior audience!!! Thanks again!

  6. Susan Earl said,

    Lorraine,
    Thank you so much for sharing. It is so lovely to hear your story of volunteering in nursing homes and bringing joy to many who have so little. You have blessed my spirit today.

  7. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Thanks Susan!! Very happy to hear that I blessed your spirit!! This what we hope to do for the seniors every time we dance!! Take care!!

  8. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Mary Hum is the inspirational Lady who got me started!! She is so full of spunk I could not resist!! Thanks so much Mary!! Thanks Dolores for sharing her picture!!!


Leave a Reply

