A Woman's Voice


SCOTTY’S JEANS — August 7, 2010 by Barbara Robinson

Posted in MEMORY LANE by doloresayotte on August 7, 2010
Tags: , ,

MEMORY LANE

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” Matthew 6:21 (NIV).

“He will be the sure foundation for your times, a rich store of salvation and wisdom and knowledge; the fear of the Lord is the key to this treasure.” Isaiah 33: 6 (NIV).

“Remember how fleeting is my life.” Psalm 89:47 (NIV).

Many hidden treasures are found in the Bible, our instruction manual for life, and in family and friends. I hope you will join me in discovering the many hidden treasures in God’s Word and in my personal writing journey for Him, as well as the many hidden treasures I’ve found along life’s journey in my family and friends. I’m putting the finishing touches on a novel titled True Hidden Treasures. B. J. Robinson 

Scotty’s Jeans

            I jumped out of bed early every morning with the spirit, energy, and vitality of youth, cleaned house, and took care of the family duties. Far too busy to treasure the day with a son in the first grade, I took pride in the fact that I kept a spotless home and had dinner on the table when my husband returned from work.

            I hung Scotty’s small jeans outside in the sunshine and fresh air. I can still see them blowing in the wind, hung neatly, all in a row, jeans of every color: brown, black, green, navy, maroon, and blue. I took pride in the fact that he had a pair of jeans in each color for school.

            Before I knew it, my son grew, left home, married, had children of his own,  and made me a grandmother multiple times. Those precious family days were a treasure that didn’t last. All too soon, spring turned to summer, summer to fall, and fall is turning to winter. What I wouldn’t give to hang those precious little jeans on the line and watch them blow.

            I no longer clean house like it’s the most important thing in my life. What I once took pride in is dull, boring, and humdrum–just another ordinary, routine day. Now, there are no small jeans blowing in the wind. No first grader rushes home to excitedly tell me about his school day. Those are all things of the past, things that didn’t last.

            Now, my little grandson’s mother throws his jeans in the dryer as she rushes to get ready for work. The hands of time slip by like a silent thief in the night, as precious days fly with the speed of lightning. Off to work. Off to school. Years fly. Days of the past, treasured days,  just don’t last.

“Thank you, Sweet Jesus, for teaching us that each day is a treasured gift and that family and friends don’t have to be hidden treasures, when we open our eyes, so we can see.” (Barb) 

Thank you Barbara for sharing your faith and your fond memory with us.  Thanks for your reminder too, about how fast life can go by and to be grateful for the memories we have. 

First printed in USADeepSouth.com as Colored Jeans on the Clothesline: Such Precious Days Don’t Last. Permission given to reprint revised edition.  http://usadeepsouth.com. Barbara J. Robinson is writing a Southern Christian romantic suspense novel titled True Hidden Treasures. Visit her at http://barbarajrobinson.blogspot.com She lives in Florida with her husband, Frankie her cat, and Sunflower, her cocker spaniel.

 

 

15 Responses to 'SCOTTY’S JEANS — August 7, 2010 by Barbara Robinson'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'SCOTTY’S JEANS — August 7, 2010 by Barbara Robinson'.

  1. Fred Ayotte said,

    Very enjoyable article. I agree with you, time flies by so fast. Even so, no one can take away our own precious memories of these past times which we can continue to cherish foreever.


    • Thanks, Fred, I carry them in my heart and can see them so clearly without camera photos. Blessings, Barb

  2. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Barb!! You have a beautiful message!! So often we rush through life and forget to appreciate what we end up longing for later in life!! Your article reminded me that we should cherish each and every moment of our journey with God!! Thank you so much for your inspiraing article and message!!


    • Lorraine, thanks for your encouragement with my writing. I’m so glad you enjoyed the article. Thanks for reading and commenting. Blessings, Barb

  3. Barry Merrell said,

    Enjoyed the article Barb! Looking back…… some of those old chores actually brought so much joy!! Time just keeps going faster as we find new ways of doing things. It is stories like yours that reminds us to appreciate those golden/olden days as well as today ! Thanks for sharing such a lovely story.


    • Barry, thanks for reading and commenting, inspiring me to continue writing such stories. I love writing sweet, cherished memories, and I’m so glad t know you appreciate stories like this. Blessings, Barb


  4. I’m glad you enjoyed the article and thanks so much Lorraine, Fred, and Barry. Barb

  5. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Last night I sat with my daughter and granddaughter looking through photo albums and I had to catch my breath as the years literally unfolded album after album! My daughter Lori asked the same question that was on the tip of my tongue “where have all the years gone?” So many memories and so many changes but each new day brings new memories and new changes and such is “life” so I thank God every day for my memories and I hope to share as many of them as I possibly can and thanks to Dolores’ “Blog” I will continue to write them in a special way for all to enjoy!


    • Beautiful, Shirley. It is our precious memories that allow us to have a deeper appreciation for time which is so precious and for God. Blessings, Barb

  6. hope_rising said,

    Barbara,

    such a poignent point. Today is a treasure. I am so living in today these days for the first time in my life. I’ll be honest it was very uncomfortable at first, but as time goes on, I am relaxing into it.

    great story, great point, great post!


    • Thanks, Hope Rising. I’m glad you’re no longer uncomfortable. Blessings, Barb

  7. Rita Garcia said,

    Where does the precious time go? It is so true the passing of time brings many changes. I don’t think I’ve ever removed clothes from a dyer and enjoyed the smell of sunshine that seemed to linger on the clothes dried outside on a line. I’m learning life is filled with treasures in each season–even winter. Lovely story–thanks for the memories. Hugs, Rita


  8. Rita, thank you for taking your precious time to read and comment. It’s the simple, ordinary gifts of life that mean the most. Nothing like the smell of clothes dried in the sunshine vs. a dryer. Of course, I use the dryer today though. I don’t have a clothesline anymore, but I loved to hang beddng out on the clothesline for the sunshine and fresh air. Nothing like it. Blessings, Barb


  9. Dolores, thanks for reposting this one. I named my Scotty after the song “Watching Scotty Grow,” and it was a bit of inspiration for this story. Time flies so fast, but watching his little jeans blow in the wind was part of watching him grow. Each year those jeans blowing in the wind became a little bigger 🙂 until time, a dryer, and a grown man, there were no more little jeans blowing in the wind. Blessings, Barb

  10. Cheryl said,

    So true – you write beautifully Barbara. I am a Grandma too and my days go as fast as yours. I wish we would have known then what we know now. I miss my little kids too.


Leave a Reply

