A Woman's Voice


SANDWICHES — July 1, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE,INSPIRATIONAL QUOTES AND ANECDOTES by doloresayotte on July 1, 2010
Tags: , ,

A Wo-Man’s Voice 

I try to view life in the simplest of ways and to use my imagination as much as possible to explain my thoughts. 

Our lives can be as plain and simple as two slices of bread stuck together with butter or as exciting as the ingredients that we put into it.  I much prefer what is between the slices of bread rather than the bread itself, although, I love good quality bread.  I need both. 

I want my sandwich so thick with meat and other fixings that I can hardly wrap my mouth around it.  This is the same way that I want to enjoy my life.  I don’t just want to be born and then eventually die. That’s a given. In other words, I don’t merely want to exist.  I want a lot of in between stuff to make a really good life for myself and for those around me. 

I can settle for bread squeezed together with butter or margarine or I can have a huge “Dagwood” sandwich with all of my favorite things in the middle.   It’s up to me.  I can settle for less or build my life in the same way that I make my sandwiches, thick with messy and juicy flavors like pickles and peppers. I want to lead a full and rewarding life that is pleasing to my Maker. Mmmmm….life tastes so much better this way! What kind of sandwich do you like?

____________________________________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“We find greatest joy, not in getting, but in expressing what we are…Men do not really live for honors or for pay; their gladness is not in the taking and holding, but in the doing, the striving, the building, the living.  It is a higher joy to teach than to be taught.  It is good to get justice, but better to do it;  fun to have things but more to make them.  The happy man is he who lives the life of love, not for the honors it may bring,  but for life itself. “ (R. J. Baughan)

 

4 Responses to 'SANDWICHES — July 1, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'SANDWICHES — July 1, 2010 by Dolores Ayotte'.

  1. Mary Haskett said,

    Dolores,
    What a great metaphor for life.In that vein I like my sandwiches filled with love, laughter and most of all God, after all He is the bread of life.

  2. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    So true Dolores and Mary!!! God is the bread and all the fixings are our choices !! We are so very blessed to have so much and have the gift to choose!! Great analogy! I like my sandwiches full too but everything has to be thinly sliced! Not sure what that means!! 🙂

  3. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    “I Am The Bread of Life” one of my favorite songs and how very true! We are given so much in our lifetime and it most certainly comes down to what we do with this abundance, we can accept and enjoy or we can reject and miss out on all the trimmings God has in store for us. I myself enjoy a sandwich filled with all my favorites and then I can say “now that was worth every bite!”

  4. Nikki said,

    love this post..great metaphor..☺


Leave a Reply

