A Woman's Voice


MY PROFILE — May 24, 2010 by Abby (My Granddaughter’s Voice)

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE by doloresayotte on May 24, 2010
Tags: , , , , ,

My Voice (Dolores)

Two years ago when Abby, my oldest grandchild was twelve, she had a school assignment.  She was required to interview a person of her choice and create a Profile on this particular person.  I am very honored to say that Abby chose me.  One of my greatest goals in life is to live up to Abby’s impression/image of me.  Now, two years later, I am pleased to announce that there are seven grandchildren in my life with the addition of Joanna’s daughter, seven month old Sophie. Thank you so much Abby for allowing me to post your assignment on “A WOMAN’S VOICE”.  I am very proud of you!

MY PROFILE

I created a profile on Dolores Ayotte, my grandmother. She is fifty-nine years old, and has three children Cheryl thirty-six, Joanna thirty-four and her twin Andrea, thirty-four as well. Dolores also has six grandchildren Abigail twelve, Rebecca nine, Isaiah eight, Jenae five, Aven two and Neve eight months old. Dolores’s birthday is on June 11 (1949). The places she and her husband have lived are Winnipeg, Pine Falls, Portage la Prairie, Saskatoon, and Phoenix. Dolores and her husband Fred (my grandfather) currently live in Winnipeg during the summer and go to their second home in Phoenix, Arizona during the winter.

There are many reasons why my grandma is interesting to me and here are some of the reasons. She always puts others before herself. She is a great role model to her children and grandchildren. She loves you for who you are. She doesn’t take things for granted and is always thankful. She lives in the moment and enjoys life to its fullest. She wrote an excellent book that includes a great message. Her book is dedicated to helping other people feel good about themselves. She is always fair no matter what the circumstances are. She can make the best of any situation. She does not take things too harshly. She just simply makes it work out. She never has something bad to say about you, but always kind things. Most of all she is always there for you no matter what happens.

A story with her admirable qualities in it would have to be about the book she wrote, that will help many people one day. Twenty-five years ago Dolores was stressed and needed a break from work so she took some time off. During that time she decided that she wanted to start writing a book and she did. Over the next twenty-five years she kept cut–outs, made and typed notes and information that she wanted to include in the book. She was very busy and did not get much free time, but she finally finished putting everything into the book. She finished it this year. The title of the book is “I’m Not Perfect and It’s Okay”. Dolores found ways to overcome her mistakes and she found out that she does not need to be perfect to be loved by her family and friends.

During my conversation with Dolores, I ask many questions. Here are a couple of the questions I asked Dolores and her answers. What’s the main theme of your book? The book is a self-help book to help/teach other people that they can be themselves and be proud of it. Her book is a baker’s dozen (which is thirteen) so in Dolores’s book there are thirteen steps to a happier life. What is the main message of your book? The main message of the book is to be satisfied with who you are no matter what the circumstances. Also that life’s a celebration you should enjoy and always live it to the fullest.             

                                                                                    By: Abby Lidster

Thank you Abby! 

Be sure to check out DOLORES’ VOICE on the sidebar. I post on a regular basis.  Thanks!  🙂

Abby is a grade eight student.  She lives with her parents Cheryl and Craig and her younger sister Becca in Swift Current, Sask.

 _______________________________________________________________________

QUOTES AND ANECDOTES

“Failure is success if we learn from it.”  (Malcolm S. Forbes)

____________________________________________________________________________________________

6 Responses to 'MY PROFILE — May 24, 2010 by Abby (My Granddaughter’s Voice)'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MY PROFILE — May 24, 2010 by Abby (My Granddaughter’s Voice)'.

  1. Andrea Cockerill said,

    Wow Abby! For being twelve at the time, you wrote beautifully. I can only imagine how you write now, two years later! Your assignment was a beautiful reflection of Grandma and who she is! We are all so lucky to have a grandma like her!

  2. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    You did a great job Abby! You are an Author in the making!! I really enjoyed it!! Aunty Lorraine

  3. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Hi Abby, you’re all grown up and I enjoyed your “profile” of Grandma as much today, maybe even more than I did when I read it two years ago. Continue to write Abby, you are gifted as a writer like your Grandma and Aunt Andrea. I look forward to seeing more “blogs” from you on both sites. Love Aunty Shirley


    • Thanks so much, Shirley, Lorraine and Andrea for your great comments about Abby’s post. There seems to be several writers in our clan! Must be in the blood. 🙂

  4. Laurette Godard said,

    Very, very good.


Leave a Reply

