A Woman's Voice


MY MUSINGS — May 3, 2010 by Louise Gauthier

Posted in A WOMAN'S VOICE by doloresayotte on May 3, 2010
Tags: , , , , ,

A WOMAN’S VOICE

As I sit here writing down my thoughts I wonder where they will take me. First of all I am a single woman, 78 years old and never married….wow what a loser. 

On second thought, it wasn’t like I wasn’t asked for my hand in marriage. I was, not once but three times.  They were not for me.  Marriage was not the biggie for me. True love, the love of my heart was what I was looking for….you might say stupid or perhaps you might call it my destiny.  Whatever, here I am on April 13 at 10:00 p.m. still single, yet not feeling like I was left on the shelf. 

I am just a woman like any other woman…living day by day, doing the best that I can to be good, to be happy and to find peace.   In spite of the fact that I have never married and have no children I believe that I have had and still have a full life.  I have experienced loneliness and regret but who has not? 

I have also been deeply in love with a man whom I thought was my soul mate. Maybe he was.  I say that because I believe that life is not only of this physical world but of the spiritual world also. 

Please do not ask me to explain…the gift of understanding different concepts is given to all of us…some we understand and some are mysteries. 

Unfortunately for me the love of my life died over a year ago.  I loved him from the first day I met him.  I have also had “the challenge” and believe it or not “the pleasure” to take care of a family member for many years. Over time he became not my burden and my cry of “I can’t handle this”, to my child, my angel, my guide to my inner self who showed me a pathway to a special inner joy (I really believe we cannot get to this point without deep anguish). As the years went by in my caretaking of him, I went from why is this happening to me to … I had no idea that I had this kind of strength, loyalty and love for another human. 

So as I end this little musing thought period of mine, I understand that my journey with my beloved brother Paul was a gift that was given to me by a Higher Power.  I only hope that my presence in his life was also a gift to him. 

I conclude my inner musing with this thought…we never know where our path in life will lead us.  Is it our choice or is it our destiny? 

Thank you for listening to me. This felt good.

Thanks to you too Louise!  “A WOMAN’S VOICE” is supposed to make you feel good.

Louise is retired and resides in Winnipeg, Manitoba

May 10, 2010  –THE PERSISTENCE OF THE SPIRIT  by Andrea Cockerill

Subscriptions to my blog are FREE.  Please use the sidebar to register.  Thanks!  🙂

8 Responses to 'MY MUSINGS — May 3, 2010 by Louise Gauthier'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'MY MUSINGS — May 3, 2010 by Louise Gauthier'.

  1. Laurette Godard said,

    Wonderful, Louise. Absolutely wonderful.

  2. Lyn Kublick said,

    Thank you Louise. Your musing is an inspiration. Our paths are different, but God chooses the right one for each individual.


    • Thanks so much Lyn and Laurette for your thoughtful comments!

  3. Lorraine Gauthier said,

    Louise!! You are an amazing person and definitely not a loser!!Sharing this hidden part of yourself takes alot of courage. Our journeys in life are to teach us and relationships come in different forms!! I know that you have a loving family and many friends!! No matter your age you continue to light up any room!!!Thanks for sharing!!

  4. Shirley Sarafinchan said,

    Louise, thank you for sharing so much of yourself in just a few paragraphs! The greatest gift is to love and to be loved and from what I’ve read you have been gifted with both! How fortunate for your brother Paul and also your soul mate to have been loved by you for so many years. I look forward to your future “musings”!

  5. louise gauthier said,

    thank you Shirley for those wonderful words I deeply appreciate them ….hugs louise

  6. Lori Denis said,

    Hi Louise,

    I enjoyed reading your words. Very profound and so real! I relate in so many ways although I have been blessed with a wonderful Husband, two beautiful daughters of my own and two incredible step-children.

    As young women, we all start out with ideas, dreams and wishes and unbeknownst to us, our paths are already chosen for us. I believe it is what we choose to do with what we are given that truly defines us and makes each of us so unique!

    Thank you for inspiring me to do a little musing of my own 🙂


    • Thanks to all of you for taking the time to read “A Woman’s Voice” and to leave such wonderful comments. Some readers leave comments and many don’t. Either way, I recognize and appreciate each and everyone of you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

